Home Sweet AnnaBelle











{October 14, 2010}   Just Like This

I hope one day, when I’m joyful

I can remember what it feels like to be

Just like this

Aching, recoiling, withdrawing

Missing, hurting

Grimacing at daylight

Praying for sleep

I hope one day, when I’m lonely,

I can remember what it feels like to be

Just Like This

Babes in arms, small dimpled hands tugging at my pantleg

Needing, Wanting, Loving

Chaos everyday, phones and doorbells and noisy toys

Neighbours needing eggs

I hope one day, when I’m wealthy,

I can remember what it feels like to be

Just Like This

Adding water to the dishsoap and turning off lights

Coupon scouting to save

Spurred by the momentum of wanting better for them

Inspired by them

I hope one day, when I’m peaceful,

I can remember what it means to be

Just Like This

Impassioned and angered

Righteous Indignation

Finally speaking my mind after decades of silence

Gagged with white knuckles

I hope one day, when I’m enlightened,

I will remember what it feels like to be

Just Like This

Fumbling, negotiating my self-concept

Trying to define “normal”

Trying to define me without judging others

With Loving Kindness

Leave a Reply

et cetera
