Home Sweet AnnaBelle











{May 29, 2010}   28 Going On 30

So, in spite of Thursday being my birthday, things were pretty chill. Funnily enough, I forgot my age until I was reminded. I thought for weeks that I was turning 30. What the hell?! Thank goodness my husband was around to call me a moron and tell me to do the math, or I’d have just skipped right over a whole year of my life!

Last night, I had the pleasure of meeting an old friend for tea. What a fantastic birthday gift! I have honestly known this girl since I was about 7 years old, and we lost touch years ago. She has been living in the UK for the last several years working as a teacher, though it sounds like she’ll be returning to this side of the pond in the next 9 months or so. I’m ecstatic.

Some of my best memories from childhood took place at her house. Everything there was always so normal, so stable and so comforting. She lived on a large acreage outside of town, we had so much fun. She, her sister, and myself would spend HOURS just…being kids. It was wonderful. They had an above ground pool, musical instruments, and so much land to explore! It was amazing. It’s the kind of childhood I want to give to my kids. I often think of their home when I ask myself what I want my own children to remember.

They were never wealthy. In fact, they went through a lot of hardship due to circumstances (WAY) beyond their control…But they managed to keep their house. The house that I remembered as being so enormous was actually not the least bit enormous. Not small, just average. I guess I just remember it being full of people and happy times.

Walking through that house was one of the first times I’ve ever been able to recall a period of my childhood with such fondness and nostalgia.

What a WONDERFUL feeling. And a beautiful birthday gift indeed, to know my childhood wasn’t totally lost.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
